MSPCA announces 2015 Dick Bernson Award winner


GREENSBORO, NC — The Mid-South Professional Cleaners Association (MSPCA) recently named Josh Moore its 2015 Dick Bernson Award Winner, according to a release.

The Dick Bernson Award is presented annually to an industry member who has “accomplished the most toward advancing the science and professionalism of [the cleaning] industry in general and the Mid-South Professional Cleaners Association in particular.” Bernson, who was the founding president of the MSPCA, owned Bernson Rug Cleaning in Durham, NC, for over 30 years and was active in the carpet cleaning community, holding multiple offices in the National Institute of Rug Cleaning, AIDS, International Society of Cleaning Technicians and the Independent Consultants of America before ultimately founding the MSPCA.

Mjosh moore-bernson award-2015oore is a 16-year carpet cleaning and disaster restoration veteran, who began his first industry job at 19. He has held a variety of roles — from tech to project manager, estimator and operations manager before eventually becoming an owner of First Call Cleaning and Restoration Inc. — and developed a plethora of knowledge of all facets of the industry — carpet cleaning, water damage restoration, duct work, etc.

In 2007, Moore qualified for a NC Unlimited General Contractors License with which he established new polices and procedures. He also is a Level 2 firefighter with EMT and Hazmat certification but operates First Call day-to-day operations.

“We are still a small business, but I am passionate about my industry and my company,” Moore said in the release. “I believe that if you make the tough decisions, treat people with respect and do the right thing you will be successful, not only financially, but personally.”

Previous Berson Award winners are:

  • 1981 Ralph Bloss
  • 1982 Gray & Judy White
  • 1983 Ken Hines
  • 1984 Gene Johnson
  • 1985 Bob Pakrul
  • 1986 Walter “Chub” Safrit
  • 1987 Joe Griffin Small
  • 1988 Lee Pemberton
  • 1989 Jeff Simpkins
  • 1990 Ted Lindfors
  • 1991 Jeff Bishop
  • 1992 John M. Downey, IV
  • 1993 N/A
  • 1994 Ken Johansen
  • 1995 Mike Wheatley
  • 1996 Herb Stutts
  • 1997 Herb Stutts
  • 1998 Dan Taylor
  • 1999 Ed Hobbs
  • 2000 Jim Bynum
  • 2001 Karen Pettyjohn
  • 2002 Juliann Poff
  • 2003 Gil Whittington
  • 2004 Rich Brown
  • 2005 Chris Silliman
  • 2006 Meredith Silliman
  • 2007 Angela Pless
  • 2008 Wayne Etowski
  • 2009 Robert Pettyjohn
  • 2010 Ryan Scoggins
  • 2011/2012 Wayne Etowski
  • 2013/2014 N/A

Cleanfax Staff

Cleanfax provides cleaning and restoration professionals with information designed to help them manage and grow their businesses.

Follow Cleanfax Staff

Related Posts

Share This Article

Join Our Newsletter

Expert Videos

Popular Content


ServiceMonster: All-in-One Client and Job Management Platform Built for Carpet and Floor Cleaners

Masters in Restoration Pricing & Documentation

Masters in Restoration Pricing & Documentation: How to Turbocharge Your Restoration Project Strategies

Erin Hynum

Revolutionizing Restoration: Introducing the DryMAX XL Pro Dehumidifier


CoreLogic: Spearheading Innovation and Technology in the Restoration Industry


Insurance Restoration Strategies Unlocked: How to Identify & Conquer Top Challenges in the Industry


Has the increase in remote work made booking residential cleaning appointments easier than before the COVID-19 pandemic?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...